Perspective: Shaken, Not Stirred. Every normal, red-blooded dude wants to be like James Bond, and smell like him. A fragrance in advertising perspective.

Cool. Charismatic. Composed. The latest film in the James Bond franchise is Skyfall, and since I’m a Bond fan from way back, when I received a call from Robert Klara at Adweek, I welcomed the chance to speak to him about the James Bond 007 fragrance and how advertising perspectives have changed over time with regard to genders, aspirations, and what’s currently cool. We chatted for a while, and his resulting Adweek article is fascinating. So remember, even if you can’t own that Aston Martin DB5, you can still feel like a little like James Bond with a sexy new fragrance or James Bond accessories. Check out the full article here: http://www.adweek.com/news/advertising-branding/perspective-shaken-not-stirred-146597.

James Bond

 

more…

7 thoughts on “Perspective: Shaken, Not Stirred. Every normal, red-blooded dude wants to be like James Bond, and smell like him. A fragrance in advertising perspective.

  1. Thanks, Stephanie. Enjoyed analyzing the advertising angle. James Bond is a fascinating brand in that it appeals to both men and women. They manged to retain the cool factor. Even the old Bond movies are fabulous studies in retro cool.

  2. Jan,

    Applying my 007 after shave, I imagine myself at a high class watering hole. I’m in a white linen suit, blond on one arm, brunette on the other, casually sipping my martini with one hand while the other reaches stealthy into my breast pocket in search of my Walther PPk.

    Quickly, I spin 180′ and fire one shot into the forehead of the bad guy sneaking up behind me; slip the gun back into my pocket, retrieve my martini, and sip and smile as if nothing happened.

    Cheers,
    Marc

  3. Cool, calm, collected, no matter what. Knows all the sundry details of the international spy scene without measuarable effort, can beat up most men on the planet without breaking a sweat, one of the best in the world at all forms of gambling, followed by scores of beautiful women without having to court them.

    Some might ask: is this the ideal of western culture? And the majority would respond with an indifferent reply- yes.

Leave a Reply

