Entrepreneur Interviews: Caroline Fardig, Author of It’s Just a Little Crush

It's Just a Little CrushToday I’m pleased to welcome fellow writer Caroline Fardig, author of the new book, It’s Just a Little CrushWe had a good talk about writing, so I thought I’d share her inspiring story. Caroline had a dream; she took the plunge and started writing. In addition, she’s an indie publisher, which in my book means she’s a true entrepreneur. However, I’ll bet traditional publishing pros are checking out her talented work.

Let’s welcome Caroline to the Entrepreneur Interview Series here, where entrepreneurs share their successes, setbacks, and inspirational attitudes.

Here’s the set-up for Caroline’s engaging chic-lit story of romantic suspense: “The sleepy town of Liberty hasn’t seen murder in…well…ever. Residents are stunned when the body of a young woman is found strangled, and reporters at the Liberty Chronicle are thrilled, rather disturbingly, over the biggest news story to hit town this century.”

Author Interview

JM: Hello Caroline, great to have joining me today. To kick this off, can you share with readers what inspired you to write this book?

CF: Sure, when I was a kid, I would daydream and make up all kinds of stories in my head. I was always the heroine, and I was always having great adventures with my friends. That stopped when I got older, either because I didn’t have the time to daydream anymore, or because I was old enough to have cool adventures in real life.

A few years ago, I started reading quite a bit more, but I got to the point where I didn’t like how many of the novels I read turned out. I found myself daydreaming about what the characters could have done instead to make their stories more interesting. The more I thought about it, the more I thought I should just write my own story, and make all of the characters do exactly what I wanted, just like I did when I was a kid.

JM: What’s your book about?

CF: It’s Just a Little Crush is a mystery set in the small, peaceful town of Liberty. When young woman is found strangled, it’s the biggest news story in Liberty’s history. When another young woman turns up dead from an apparent accident, Lizzie Hart smells trouble and takes it upon herself to uncover the truth. Hindered only by her general ineptitude at sleuthing and a raging crush on the town’s most eligible bachelor, Lizzie spies, accuses, eavesdrops, and gossips her way through a parade of suspects.

JM: Are there places or settings in your book that hold special meaning for you?

CF: I modeled Liberty after my own hometown. I love small towns. I have lived in one all my life, and I can’t imagine living in a big city and not recognizing people I pass by on the street. That’s why choosing a small town as a setting was so perfect for my book—I could have a limitless supply of characters who know each other and are interconnected.

Caroline FardigJM: That’s really interesting. I’m originally from Austin, Texas, and there’s a small town nearby named – you guessed it – Liberty, Texas. I realize that’s not your actual town, but it immediately sprang to mind!

So, when did you begin writing? And, is this your first book?

CF: It’s Just a Little Crush is my first novel, and I started writing it three years ago, but I didn’t tell a soul about it. After about six months, I worked up the courage to give my first draft to one of my best friends. She read it and encouraged me to keep working on it and to try to get it published.

JM: Where and when do you write the best?

CF: I primarily write in my home office, but sometimes I like to sneak away and take my laptop to Starbucks. I write either while my kids are at school or after everyone else in the house had gone to bed. (With a husband, two kids, two dogs, and a cat, sometimes the only quiet time is bedtime!)

JM: Same here, Caroline! Now, I love to ask people this: What do you consider your greatest moment of success?

CF: It had to be the moment I clicked the “Save and Publish” button on Amazon’s Kindle Direct Publishing site. After years of writing, adding, rewriting, proofreading, and formatting, my book was finally completed and ready for the whole world to see. Without that moment, I wouldn’t be on the wild ride that I’m on today!

JM: And what has been your greatest setback?

CF: I haven’t had a situation that has knocked me for a loop, but something I fight with constantly is letting life get in the way of my writing career. Being a writer is not a “9 to 5” job, and if I’m not careful, it can get pushed to the side. There have been times that I have gone months without writing, not because I didn’t feel like writing, but because I didn’t have the time and the emotional serenity to get the job done.

JM: We’re glad you found the time to share your story! Keep writing, and thanks for your visit, Caroline.

Reviews

SEMIFINALIST, The Kindle Book Review’s 2013 Best Indie Book Awards

“This could be the next Tommy and Tuppence, Partners in Crime, duo with the flavor of The Thin Man series. 5 stars.” -Sweet Mystery Books

“This book truly is LAUGH OUT LOUD FUNNY! You will love the real, in-depth characters! Lizzie is a fantastic heroine! Rocks are thrown through windows, people are dying, bombs are going off, and in between it all you have this fantastic, witty dialogue! This book was also a dream to read.” -Joe Cool Review, 5 Stars

“A hilarious mystery caper.” -The Masquerade Crew

Bestseller Rankings

It’s Just a Little Crush has ranked on Barnes & Noble as a #1 Bestseller in the genres of Women Detectives and Humorous Fiction. Its Bestseller ranking held in the Top 10 for a week and claimed the #17 spot on Barnes & Noble’s overall Bestseller List. On Amazon, it ranked #2 on three different Amazon Bestseller Lists—Women’s Sleuths, Humorous Fiction, and Comic Fiction.

Where to Buy

Buy on Amazon

Buy on B&N

Author website

One thought on “Entrepreneur Interviews: Caroline Fardig, Author of It’s Just a Little Crush

Leave a Reply

