19 Things Successful People Do on Social Media – via Forbes

Social Media Party

Social media is an important tool for entrepreneurs, author-preneurs, and corporate folks alike. It’s been reported that 69% of adults use social mediaNow, more than ever, it’s important to understand the keys for success.

How do you build a brand and develop a following? Like face-to-face social interactions, social media interactions are also improved by being genuine, by speaking to the individual. In writing, the reader/audience has to fall in love with the protagonist. In the business I founded, I used to tell my team that we wanted our clients to fall in love with us and our service. Answer the phone with a smile, because people can hear happiness. Care. Be authentic.

We’re all individuals, and we each have a special way of sharing our message. For example, I like the quick interactions on Twitter, I like sharing news from my Triberr friends. Facebook and Pinterest are growing, but honestly, I seem to have the most fun on Twitter. So it’s no wonder that much of my traffic comes from there. Plus, I have nifty tools like ManageFlitter that make it easy to manage social interaction and followers on that platform.

I read an article from fellow writer TJ McCue in Forbes that got me to thinking, and I thought you might find of interest, too. Here’s the highlights of TJ’s tips for successful social media mavericks:

#1: They believe.

#2: They share what they had for lunch, or successful social media people listen.

#3: They don’t try to dominate every single social network.

#4: They don’t focus on one social media network.

#5: Social media leaders still use email.

#6: They still believe in SEO.

#7: They are genuine.

#8. They do not send auto DM to all their new followers.

#9: They use hashtags judiciously.

#10: Successful social media users (clearly) don’t believe the hype that prospects aren’t using social media.

#11: They publish more quality, not just quantity.

#12: They understand that one message does not fit all networks

#13: Social media leaders don’t let friends outsource.

#14: They hire interns, but they use them wisely.

#15: Success in social media demands that you get personal.

#16: They know that social media is not free, but earned.

#17: They measure social media.

#18: They know that fan/follower growth is secondary to getting paid.

#19: They believe in their network and leverage it.

To read the full Forbes article that TJ wrote, check it out here:  http://www.forbes.com/sites/tjmccue/2013/02/26/19-things-successful-people-do-on-social-media/

So come on in, the party’s fine. And tell us, what works for you? Any tips to share?

27 thoughts on “19 Things Successful People Do on Social Media – via Forbes

  1. Pingback: 19 Things Successful People Do on Social Media – via Forbes | richardstephensblog

  2. Reblogged this on Miz Meliz and commented:
    This is for all my friends who “use” Social Media and for those who want to learn more about it. In case you don’t know, you are reading social media right now. Welcome to the club! Readd on and I hope you enjoy my Triberr Friend, Jan Moran’s post and recap of 19 Things Successful People Do on Social Media via Forbes. . . .

  3. I am on WordPress, Twitter, and Facebook, and I have the accounts linked. Mostly I blog on here, and use Twitter for brief comments or observations. I seldom post directly to Facebook any more, mostly my Facebook page is just the feed from my blog and Twitter. For what it’s worth, I keep picking up followers on all three, and I’d say about half of them are contacts that I want to follow back.

  4. Thanks for the great tips. The one I see most people leave out is #7. It’s easy to get caught up in expert posturing and then forget people don’t just want to know the suit–they want to know who’s inside it. The problem is, sometimes we wear a social media mask, and I think we lose confidence that people will really like us for our genuine selves. Anyway, great summary of the Forbes article (I’m assuming that’s the “via Forbes” reference — LOL). I look forward to following your blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

